Peach Custard Pie

IMG_0075

I love making desserts. Have I said that before? I guess I like eating them as much as I like baking them too. And this pie is great to bake during the winter months because it uses canned peaches. That may not sound very appetizing to some, but once you bake up this pie, I think you’ll change your mind.

Ingredients:

1 lb. 13 oz. canned peaches in heavy syrup
3 Tablespoons cornstarch or flour
1 cup sugar, divided
3 Tablespoons reserved peach syrup
3 eggs
1/3 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla
unbaked double pie crust

Glaze:

1 Tablespoon butter, melted
1 Tablespoon sugar

Directions:

Drain peaches reserving 3 Tablespoons of the syrup. Cut peaches into small pieces and place in a small bowl.

In a different bowl, combine cornstarch and 2 Tablespoons of divided sugar. Add the reserved peach syrup. Add remaining sugar, egg, and buttermilk, mix well. Stir in the melted butter and vanilla.

Pour over peaches and stir. Put into unbaked pie shell. Moisten pastry edge with water. Cover with top crust. Flute the edges.

For the glaze, brush the top crust with the melted butter and sprinkle with sugar. Make small slits in the top crust. Cover edges with pie shield or tin foil. Bake at 400 F (205 C) for 45 minutes or until set.

Best when served cool.

IMG_0071

I did not come up with this recipe, but I have had it in my recipe folder for a long time and I have no clue where it is from. I would love to give credit to whoever did come up with this wonderful pie.

Leave a Reply

