Cinnamon Swirl French Toast

Recently I’ve been making my own cinnamon swirl bread that the girls LOVE! Ok, I love it as much as they do! It all started with making my own bread starter to have fresh bread available, pretty much all the time.

We also love breakfast foods in our home. To me, french toast is a yummy breakfast that isn’t too time consuming. I found this recipe on allrecipes.com and use it often. Having cinnamon swirl bread in the house, gave me the brilliant idea to combine the two. Why hadn’t I thought of this sooner?

IMG_0209

You could also just go buy some cinnamon swirl bread at the store and use that in this recipe, but there is nothing quite like the homemade version.

Regular bread can be used as well, just be sure to add in 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 Tablespoon white sugar
  • slices of cinnamon swirl bread (number will vary of the size of your bread)

Directions:

  1. Measure flour into medium mixing bowl. Slowly whisk in the milk. Whisk in the salt, eggs, vanilla and sugar until smooth.
  2. Heat a little oiled frying pan over medium heat.
  3. Soak the bread slice in the egg/milk mixture until very saturated. Cook bread on each side until golden brown. Serve hot with homemade syrup.

IMG_0212

Do you like my Moscow Starbucks mug? It’s one of my favorites for my morning coffee.

Leave a Reply

