Chile Relleno

IMG_0167

My husband and I both love Mexican food and this is one dish he usually orders when we go to a Mexican restaurant.  I think I’ve only ever taken a bite of his dish before actually making it myself.  Why then am I making a dish that is one of my husbands favorite when I’ve never even tasted it? Well, because I love my hubs and he found these peppers at a farm market and knew I could make it. I was a little unsure of how it would turn out. But after he took one bite, I heard him give his approving and “this is amazing” groan.  I knew then I had accomplished what I set out to do.

IMG_0168

I was looking all over pinterest and allrecipes for the right recipe, but nothing seemed authentic.  Finally I stumbled across a video on the Food Network of Guy Fieri visiting a Mexican restaurant in Los Angeles.  I don’t think you can get more authentic than that.

Serves 4 people

Ingredients:

  • 4 pasilla chiles
  • 1 pound queso fresco cheese
  • Toothpicks
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup oil

Tomato Sauce:

  • 1-29 ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1 tablespoon chicken broth powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon chopped oregano leaves

Directions:

Prepare rice and beans, for serving, if desired.

Turn on your oven broiler to high.

Place peppers on a cookie sheet and broil until blackened on all sides. Turning frequently. Once blackened put in a container with a lid for 10 minutes to sweat out any moisture. Remove from the container, slit them down the middle and remove the seeds. Stuff the peppers with the queso fresco and use toothpicks to hold them together.

Separate the egg yolks from the whites. Add the egg whites to a large bowl. Reserve the egg yolks. Beat the egg whites with a mixer until the whites fluff up. Add in the flour and the egg yolks and stir by hand until completely incorporated.

Add the oil to a frying pan over medium heat. Dip the stuffed peppers into the batter and fry until golden brown on both sides. Remove from the oil to a serving plate.

Tomato sauce:

Add the tomato sauce to a small pot over medium heat. When it comes to a simmer, stir in the garlic powder, chicken broth powder, and oregano.

Pour the tomato sauce on the serving platter. Place the cooked chile rellenos over the sauce and serve with prepared rice and beans.

IMG_0171

If you love Mexican food, go and make this, you will love it!

Recipe adapted from The Food Network which was courtesy of Carla Rodriguez, owner of Mom’s Tamales in Los Angeles, CA.

 

3 responses to “Chile Relleno

Leave a Reply

